More and more city workers are deciding to live in the country and travel into work everyday. The result is increased traffic congestion and damage to the environment. What measures do you think could be taken to encourage people not to travel such long distances into work?

Traditionally, a library is a place that shelves a number of books a reader can read or borrow. However, technological advancement and its tremendous effects on the way we learn new things and share information have redefined the concept of a library in recent days. Thus, digital contents and technological facilities are widely used in public libraries all around the world and I quite disagree with the notion that these amenities are a waste of resource or space for a library. Opponents of high-tech libraries frequently argue that they distract readers and costs more money. I, however, believe that libraries with modern facilities are far more useful to readers and allow the librarian to manage its collection in a more organised fashion. Multimedia resources offer readers a dynamic combination of images, sounds, videos and virtual tours. Thus, listening to a well-known historical speech or taking a virtual tour of the Colosseum is far more interactive and exciting than merely reading about them. Moreover, multimedia facilities and DVDs in a library may initially seem expensive, on the contrary they preserve valuable resources for a longer time and contain vital information for future research and reference. To cite an example, a single DVD can store the entire volume of Encyclopedia Britannica which would otherwise occupy a large shelf of a library. Interestingly, a public library can actually save money and space and attract more readers with the use of technology and interactive contents. When they have computers and library management software, they barely need a plethora of staff members. Besides, it takes great effort to protect books from moisture, fire and human damages, on the contrary digital contents can easily be copied and preserved for as a plethora of years as we want. As for attracting young generations, a high-tech library is more successful. To conclude, the transformation of public libraries has made them more beneficial to readers and researchers as they now work as centers for interactive learning and knowledge sharing. It is expected that traditional libraries would include digital and modern facilities to enhance human knowledge and experience.