Some people think that one should choose a job based on salary in order to provide security for the family. Do you think money is an important factor when choosing a job? What other factors should be considered?

Many people would argue that financial security is the principal reason for their choice of occupation. Some would also argue that money is a key motivator. However, my personal belief is that whilst money is important, other factors also have a significant bearing. Primarily, people go out to work in order to earn money to provide for themselves and their families. As such, continued financial stability and security are important factors which need to be borne in mind when looking for a new job. Without a doubt, one of the first things which people firstly look at when they scan job advertisements is the salary scale. If this does not meet the expectations of an individual, or more importantly at least match their current level of pay, it is highly likely that a decision will be reached that the particular position is not deemed to be suitable. However, some would suggest that choosing a job based solely on the salary offered is short sighted. They are likely to point to factors including the satisfaction that can be gained in undertaking a rewarding position. For example, nurses and teachers carry out roles which are not always well paid. However, they are likely to achieve high levels of job satisfaction which contributes to their intrinsic motivation. The social benefits of working are also important. This gives people the chance to interact socially, both in and out of the workplace. Examples of this might be the chance to talk to like minded colleagues over a coffee in the staffroom or liaising with colleagues at a social occasion after work. In addition, the chance to work for a reputable organisation, opportunities for professional development and undertaking a role that you are committed to are also other important factors. To conclude, whilst some would choose remuneration as the fundamental consideration when searching for a new role, I would argue that other considerations have an equal weighting.