Some say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their spare time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some parents prefer to send their children to group classes while others argue that it is better to let their children manage their leisure hours. Although children will be safe and sound in the group classes, I believe that it is crucial for children to learn to be independent by allowing them to manage their free time. Parents feel assured that their children are safe in the group courses where their children will be under the watchful eyes of the teachers. As there will always be tutors around in the classes, parents do not need to worry about their children participating in dangerous activities. Even if something unfortunate happened to the children, they would be well taken care of by their class tutors. For instance, if a student fell down and was injured, her class tutor would bring her to the clinic and inform her parents. On the other hand, children tend to become more independent if they are allowed to manage their free hours, under the guidance of their parents. Children will have to find out which activity they want to do, check where they can do it and how to do it, instead of following what has been already arranged for them by their parents. After all, parents will still need to teach their children to be independent, as there will be a day when the parents will no longer be around. Although parents allow their children to manage their own time and activities, they should monitor their children's activities, so that they know what is going on with their children. In conclusion, while letting children participate in group activities ensures their safety, allowing their sons and daughters to manage their free time gives them the opportunity to be able to stand on their own feet, which is one of the essential life skills.