Some people say that history is one of the most important subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is said that history is one of the essential subjects, but others disagree with that and think that science is more important in this modern world. Although history gives us the opportunity to learn what happened in the past, science allows us to advance forward which I believe is more crucial. Through history, we get to learn a lot of things that occurred way before we were born. Knowing what happened in the past helps us in knowing why we are at where we are which, in turn, helps us decide what to do next. Furthermore, we get to know what went wrong in the past, what to avoid or what to follow to make things work at the present and how to improve further. For example, in the past, there were infectious diseases that killed thousands of people. Based on the data from the past, we know what caused them and we have developed vaccines to prevent some of them. Science, no doubt, plays an extremely crucial role in our daily lives. Science has helped us advance in many fields such as engineering, medicine and transportation, and as a result, we now live convenient and comfortable lives. For instance, people had to travel overseas by trains and ships which took them days to reach their destination. Passenger-carrying aeroplanes were then developed, thanks to the advanced technologies, and they let us travel from one place to another comfortably in a very short time. In conclusion, while history gives us a lot of information, it is due to science that we have come thus far. Therefore, I believe science is a more important topic to be learnt.