Developments on science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are several opinions as to how the advent of technology has impacted on the society. some argue that a simpler life will conserve the environment while others supposed that science and technology will provide solutions to our enviromental problems. This essay will look at both ends of the spectrum and provide a personal opinion. On the one hand, people believe that natural way of living will have less effect on the environment. This is evident in the rural area where there is less dependence on gadgets, the environment is cleaner and there is a balanced ecosystem. This is because simpler life style has less burthened on the environment. For instance, less dependence on car will reduce carbon emission which could lead to the depletion of the Ozone layer. In addition, living a simpler life will ensure a conducive coexistence between man and animal. This will in turn create a balance ecosystem where both plants and animals will thrive unhindered. On the other hand, Technology has been seen to also provide significant solutions climate problems. With Science and Technology, man has been able to predict natural disasters and also forecast the weather. This has helped man to proffer solutions to immediate and future climatic conditions. For instance, with the aid of satellites, scientists have been able to predict pest invasions which could affect the next planting season. In addition, with these technologies, we have been able to improve the weather condition for optimal growth of plants and animals. To conclude, a simple life style will have less effect on the environment. As, a matter of fact, it will preserve it. Man should be circumspective when relying on technology because prevention is better than cure.