Developments of science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some proponents say that simple way of living should be adopted so that the environmental issues caused by the progression of technology and science could be prevented. However, in my opinion advanced technological and scientific features can help to combat environmental deterioration, but the idea of going back to simple living is not acceptable. Firstly, the advancement in science and research results in the production of various innovative alternatives of daily use products which were considered as the major pollutants. For instance, the use of plastic bags, cups, straws are replaced by paper-based products, which can degrade easily. Additionally, technology has introduced various recycling plants worldwide. Plastic and other pollutants, which take years to degrade, are now being recycled to manufacture various useful products. For Example, a renowned clothing brand Zara sells clothing made of the fiber obtained from plastic bottles. The opponents say that technological advancement brings new products to the world, which results in opening new industries and manufacturing units. It leads to an increase in waste production. For example, in the last decade, 100 tons of mobile phone-related waste products was extracted out of the Dal lake in Kashmir while cleaning. The fact that science and technology has caused more environmental issues is undoubtedly undeniable, but the idea of adapting simple life is impossible. It is extremely hard for humankind to leave the comfort of modern technological world. In conclusion I believe that mankind has come too far to start living the simple life again. The idea of utilizing science and technology to prevent environmental pollution is more feasible.