The best way for governments to solve traffic congestion is to provide public transport 24 hours a day and seven days a week. Do you agree or disagree?

Ceaseless public transports are considered the best way to handle traffic congestion. As far as the efficiency and the financial condition are concerned, I firmly do not agree that it is the best solution. First and foremost, traffic jam only occurs at certain times, and as a consequence, could be solved by providing free public transport during rush hour. In the past, it is almost no choice for employees who live in suburbs and work downtown to commute, but to drive. Free public transport provided at certain times is beneficial for employees and dramatically reduce the volume of traffic. In addition, free public transport is likely to increase the burden on taxpayers. Providing public transport 24 hours a day and seven days a week is undoubtedly inefficient and it is a waste of governments’ funding. There are numerous more important concerns that need to be supported, such as education, health care, environment and so forth. Every coin in governments’ expenditure need to be well used and should not be involved in this kind of inefficient service. Upgrading the road system is a valuable alternative to solve transport congestion as everyone could benefit from the new road system in the long run. For instance, expanding the width of roads to increase lanes of roads could significantly reduce traffic congestion. Meanwhile, governments could also make rules to control the number of cars on the road to solve traffic jams. To be specific, in some cities, cars are divided into different groups and only allowed to appear on the road on certain days in a week. These approaches could all embrace more outcomes than providing creaseless public transport. In conclusion, I would argue that providing public transport day and night has a negative impact on both society and individuals, considering the efficiency and the strain imposed on taxpayers.