These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Nowadays, people are migrating from one country to another due to various reasons like to find a suitable job or for higher studies. This gives them a better opportunity to follow their passion. However, at times local residents of those regions can face issues because of cultural differences. There are both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. The main advantage of migration is that it has led to globalisation. People have come closer, and they have a better understanding of different cultures. When someone is moving to a different place for work or higher studies, they are helping in elevating the economic status of the country. For instance, Canada invites numerous migrants every year because that helps in the overall growth of the nation. Moreover, individuals find better opportunities in a foreign land for their future which perhaps they never obtained in their homeland. Despite these many advantages, there are a few disadvantages of this situation as well. The local residents of such areas, where immigrants are residing, claim that these people have disturbed the environment by littering the places and by bringing in their home traditions. For example, in Canada, many complaints are filed by the residents on a daily basis of playing loud music. Additionally, due to migrants, the local people are losing their jobs as well, as many companies manage to hire such a population on lower wages. Many people have also claimed that this trend has promoted terrorism. To conclude, with the aforementioned reasons, it is quite evident that there are many merits and demerits of moving to different nations, but I believe the advantages here have outweighed the disadvantages. However, migrants should respect the traditions, rules of the foreign land, and they should help in the overall development of the country.