Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Dressing in a professional environment has always been discussed for centuries. Although there have been many changes in the workforce uniform, many organisations still prefer certain looks, while others claim that the quality of work is more important than appearance. In my view, I am more inclined to believe that dressing smartly but appropriately would be the best approach. Uniform and dressing somehow represent and speaks a lot about a person as we have been living in a society where appearance accounts for reliability. Taking the medical field as an example, people have the tendency to believe more if a doctor dresses neatly in a clean white blouse and is well put together. It is also true in the law sector, in order to enter a trial, all the individuals in charge should dress formally in the vest so that they bring trustful and more powerful vibes. In many cases and workplaces, a dress code is a requirement because the workers not only showcase their skills but also need to bring a certain ambience to the customers. While it is true to say that dressing has some effect on the workplace, in fact, there are careers that skills and knowledge that might be more valued. In the advertising agency, for instance, dressing casually would help the employees work more effective owning to the dynamic requirement of the job. People who perform in the technical areas are often perceived as unformal dressing, but many actually have strong foundation knowledge and are experts in their careers. Those are certain jobs that quality would often outweigh the outlooks. In sum, dressing is a way of self-expression but it also shows respect for other people. To be fit in and suitable for a specific work environment, it is my belief that one's outfit should be well chosen for each situation. If human-being did not pay so much attention to dressing, there would be cases that people wear unsuitable clothes in some circumstances.