Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

In a rapidly developing world populations are increasing day by day, and to fulfill their basic food requirement we should turn to genetically modified crops in order to increase the food grains production. As genetically engineered varieties can be the only source to fulfill food necessity, as per population growing in developing world. P1- more production in less area and time,less pesticide,more nutrients P2- health issue, employment will decrease On the one hand, Genetically modified crops plays a vital role in food grains production. The advantage of GM crops is they help farmers to grow more crops in lesser area with less pesticide and more nutrients. Moreover, Genetically modified crops are cheaper than NON- GM crops. For instance, In 2010 production of corn was 85% in US and cotton was 13.5% worldwide with the help of GM varieties. On the other hand, Genetically engineered crops has adverse effect on human body which can lead to various disease like cancer etc. where as, production of Gm crops are inherently unstable. However, with he help of these technology employment ratio decline as compared to normal farming. Such as, in the recent research it is observed that people prefer less hybrid food as they feel consumption of these food can lead to various health issue and are not aware of healthy nutrients. To conclude, One has to opt for Genetically engineered varieties as these only can solve the food problem which is basic necessity of life in rapid developing nation.