Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

It is true that while there are a large number of college students residing with their parents, others choose to move out of their houses to settle in new places. There are considerably both benefits and drawbacks under the two circumstances. Living with parents may be too protective that the students could not have enough experiences of the outside world. As a result, they would have a tendency to keep themselves in their comfort zones because many real issues, even the most basic tasks have already been tackled by their parents. For example, these students do not have to pay for the tuition fees or monthly rents and other service bills because their parents would take responsibility to pay for them. In contrast, students living away from home may feel homesick and isolated when experiencing new environments. Thus, they would spend more time tr aveling b ack to their home to visit their parents, especially on special occasions and holidays. Students living in their parents ’ homes may have more time to spend on studies and other activities such as taking part in clubs at college. Besides, their concentration levels in studies are much more improved as they need not be concerned about any arousing problems, compared to ones moving out. These problems are already taken care of by their parents. In terms of students staying away from their families, graduates can seize the opportunities to develop their soft skills and life experiences as they meet people from different backgrounds. In addition, these students can also raise their sense of independence such as finding part-time jobs or self-managing their budgets. To recapitulate, there are both benefits and drawbacks to university students when considering moving away from families or staying with them.