People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

Nowadays, there are more and more consuming sugar-based drinks. The following paragraphs indicate why this situation is more popular and the keys to decrease this sugar-based drinks demand. The main reasons are that sugar-based drinks are cheap and help people save time. Generally, sugar-based drinks refer to any beverage with added sugar or other sweeteners, whose typical examples are soft drinks and energy drinks. Firstly, sugar-based drinks are so cheap that people hardly decline to drink. In the competitive market, the price of soft drinks and energy drinks is more and more cheap and specially cheaper than other drinks such as smoothie and juice. For example, a 1,5 lit bottle of Coca-Cola costs about 18.000 VND, whereas a 300 milliliter bottle of watermelon juice costs 18.000 VND, too. Nextly, because of having a busy life, people do not have time to wait for water bartenders to make drinks. Sugar-based drinks like soft drinks and energy drinks are widely sold at vending machines or cantines canteens in work or school. In contrast, smoothie and juice are seldom sold there; therefore, when people want to drink them, they must order on a booking application or buy directly at a shop, which takes lots of time. A busy person, of course, usually chooses sugar-based drinks as the sole choice. In that sugar-based drinks are really not good for health, people should drink less. With the first reason below, the government needs to increase tax on these products to decrease unnecessary consumption. Besides people really buy them for economic reasons, there are many people who just buy them because of their laziness. Consumers can solve this problem by making drinks themselves to save money or buying smoothies and juice at a shop. The way to solve the other problem about saving time is instructing people to manage their time more efficiently to have more time to drink themselves or buy smoothie and juice. When being able to control time, people have more free time to do more meaningful things; therefore, not only is this way useful to health but also good for their life. People can easily learn to control time through online courses on Youtube or Coursera. Briefly, the problem of people consuming more and more sugar-based drinks is caused by a number of factors as discussed above. Increasing taxes on sugar-based drinks and instructing people to manage their time more efficiently are two feasible solutions to combat such problems.