Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that activities are not good for a child's mental health. To what extent do yuo agree or disagree?

These days, it is often argued that children are not actively involved in outdoor activities instead they are spending their leisure time playing computer games and watching television which has some detrimental effects on health. This essay completely agrees with the statement because kids will become obese and fail to develop social interaction with friends and society. Firstly, obesity has become one of the common health problems among the younger generation. It means to say that, playing in front of computers and mobile phones make children sit in one place for a longer duration which will increase the bodyweight due to the absence of physical activity. For instance, the world health organisation announced that 80% of heart problems are caused due to overweight. In addition, the radio waves from television and gadgets could cause eye strain particularly for young people who tend to wear spectacles at an early age. Secondly, children fail to interact with friends and society. If they are playing outdoors, they can develop a friendly relationship with other kids as well as learn cognitive skills like teamwork. For example, it is proved that youngsters who are socially less interactive are mostly introverted in nature. In addition, physical activity is highly needed to stay active and maintain a healthy lifestyle. Furthermore, social interaction is highly significant which helps us to learn many things in life. To conclude, young people should effectively spend their leisure time in physical activities to develop their physical as well as mental well being rather than watching TV shows and playing on computer consoles.