Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of travelling to a workplace every day. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that allowing most of the workers to stay home completing their jobs is optimal when compared to making them go to their places of work daily. From my perspective, the good side appears to be equal to the opposite side. This essay will elaborate more on both the benefits and drawbacks that might take place. When it comes to the disadvantages, firstly, it is evident that the spirit of work will negatively be affected. Energy for a person to finish his tasks is not only from himself, but sometimes from other co-workers as well. For instance, the motivation for an employee to do his utmost may result from the fact that his colleagues are rewarded. His nature of competition may be raised up, which encourages him to prove himself and gain recognition. Therefore, without cooperating together, he might lose part of his stimulation for competing. The second factor to be considered is the facilities for the jobs. It is true that everything can be conducted from a far distance owing to the development of modern technology. However, working from home may restrict the right to access a number of data, which costs workers a greater amount of time to complete. On the other hand, the advantages of making houses into the workplace are also undeniable. While spending time at working places consumes time to travel, home offices save that amount of effort. Hence, collaborators are more flexible in dealing with both assignments and household chores. Take a working woman as an example. If she is able to work from home, it is easier for her to allocate her time for the company’s tasks, taking care of children, doing housework, and saving some time for herself. In addition, the quality of the air is certainly improved. Less travelling leads to less traffic congestion and fuel exhaustion released to the atmosphere. If the level of environmental pollution is lowered, the health of all citizens will enhance at the same time. In conclusion, the benefits and shortcomings that result from home -based offices are relatively equivalent. Thus, it is the model of companies that determines whether staff need to go to workplaces or not.