Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances for employment. To what extent do you agree or diagree?

According to many, due to the high costs of varsity and the absence of opportunity the arts ought not to be taught at higher education rather than practical qualifications must be sought. This essay moderately agrees with this approach as the arts have a very little link with career prospects. However, seeking practical qualification is only fair when considering varsity costs and job prospects. To initiate with, the arts have almost little dependency on the career. Art does not treat education as a commodity, but it assists to gain most of the desirable human qualities to become an ideal person. Therefore, the high costs of education and lack of opportunities do create serious issues for the future. In Bangladesh, for instance, above 5000 students are becoming a graduate from the arts every year in the country, of which two-thirds of students are unemployed, according to the source of the Prothom-Alo. In addition, these subjects have an impact to influence current issues as it provides solutions from past records; consequently, learning from history is vital, which will surely help to solve numerous issues in the current world in my view. In contrast, practical degrees do quantify the varsity cost and job prospects. As a result, education has converted to a commodity, which considers the demand and supply in the job market, and it may have provided brighter career prospects for students and value for their money. In England, for example, BSc in computer science is a practical subject, which has provided high-salary jobs in numerous fields and no unemployed professionals in the last five years according to the source of the daily mail. Therefore, the practical qualification is necessarily providing value against its soaring education cost. In conclusion, the soaring cost of education and unemployment is not suitable for arts education, which assists to influence learning from the past and enhancing knowledge. On the other hand, practical qualifications can produce benefits via high-salary jobs against its increasing cost in my view.