More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

When the pandemic had hit the entire world badly in the year 2020 all the workforce was forced to stay in their homes and work from there. In the initial phase, it was indeed a struggle to manage both house as well as work. But soon everyone got used to this environment and today many companies have allowed it's workers to work remotely. I opine that the advantages of this scheme of remote working outweigh its disadvantages. Let's look at both the scenarios. Working from the comfort of a house provides employees mental peace as they are not supposed to travel in rush hours and risk their lives in order to reach the office on time. They can spend that time somewhere else such as on developing a new healthy habit or in learning to play a game which will keep their mind fresh. Research shows that the employees, who are mentally stable can bring a lot of productivity to the table. Second positive is that, staff no longer has to worry about official dress code. They can wear the clothes they are comfortable in without actually hampering the output. In my country, where domestic help is a necessity for the working population, working from home provides an opportunity to even complete the daily chores all by themselves, resulting in savings. On the flipside, not all people find this away job a boon. They may not be blessed with a good supervisor and might actually have increased working hours. Continuously working remotely, makes a person lazy or starved for some personal time and it might have health hazards. To conclude, companies have realised the benefits and the amount of saving that remote working has brought to them are huge. In future, I feel workplaces will be a bit more flexible and provide option to the staff to remotely work.