Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

While some people tend to believe that studying food science should benefit students in the longer perspective, others point to the fact that school time should be utilized in learning such important subjects as mathematics, physics and history. In this essay I will examine why schools should include the art of food in a curriculum but also analyse the idea of why it could bother some students. A significant number of young people after high-school graduation find themselves in a difficult situation since they are expected to leave their parental house and continue studies at universities. Indeed, the majority of these new students start living in dormitories that usually do not possess the same level of comfort and quality of life as their homes, and freshmen are simply not ready to take care of themselves. For example, the craft of cooking is becoming one of the main challenges for young adults since overprotective parents were not teaching them this necessary skill. A possible solution to this problem could be an obligatory course in food science in high schools that would help young adults to improve their skills in the field of cooking. This very initiative could become one of the means to increase confidence among applicants who are entering universities since they already know what it means to take care of themselves. The inclusion of food science in a curriculum, however, is a point of concern to the talented students and their parents as far as they do not find this very course to be a subject worth studying. Opponents of this programme, for instance, consider that mastering the craft of cooking in high schools would harm students ’ perspectives of paying a significant amount of time learning important subjects that could shape their future lives. Even if for some pupils taking this course would really help, for others it would limit their chances, and they would not be capable of applying to the university of their dream due to the bad academic results. In conclusion, I do believe that the idea of studying the science of food in high schools could help young adults to enhance their capacities since modern trends of ordering food via mobile apps is badly influencing the current generation. On the contrary, we should not forget that a high school is a place that could help you to understand what you want to achieve in life, so learning such subjects as food science in school should be made optional for students.