The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of areas such as fashion and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that people enjoy coping each other and that is the reason why fashion and consumerism thrive. In my opinion, this is largely true though there are other potential practical explanations. Humans tend to compare their own life with the lives of people surrounding them. Consequently, most individuals aim at looking not worser and ideally better than others. This desire facilitates the growth of the fashion and consumer industries as people buy those stuff in order to mantain the prosperous and beneficial appearance in the eyes of others. For instance, if the members of the certain social group start considering a car as an indicator of success, many individuals of that society would buy a car even if they do not really need it. On the other hand, there are other reason facilitating the consumerism culture. The overall wealth of the human population is growing, so the number of people who could afford purchasing new clothes and new goods is growing as well. Those people, who have just escaped poverty, buy new things not because they want to copy anyone, but because those new things help people to meet their basic needs. For instance, high quality hiking clothes make traveling by foot much more convenient and safe. Consequently, as soon as people could afford such clothes they buy it. To conclude, although there are people who purchase new goods just for the sake of mantaining good public appearance, others buy them because of neccessity.