It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is significant for minors to be taught about the distinction between good and bad at a tender age. Disciplining these children is important to enable them to learn about morals. Although children who are been taught in their early growth about good and bad behaviour through corporal punishment tend to uphold that when they become of age, I am of the view that parents and teachers should employ some other tactics such as counselling and depriving them of social amenities instead of punishment. This essay will discuss the kind of punishment children should be given, in order to educate them about good and bad behaviour. Using corporal punishment by parents or teachers to instill good moral in children at an early age is necessary because at that age they tend to learn the difference between good and bad behaviour and if they are not taught that certain behaviours are wrong, they will grow up doing it thinking that there is nothing wrong with such act. Research has shown that children who are been flogged by their parents or teachers to learn that certain acts cannot be tolerated seems never to forget it. To illustrate, when we were growing up, my elder sibling and I were flogged mercilessly for stealing 20,000 Leones from our parents, up to date we never stole a scent from them taking into consideration the kind of beating we received. Notwithstanding the fact that parents and teachers can use corporal punishment to educate minors about behaviours, they should be using counselling or depriving a child from activities that he or she likes the most. This can be achieved by talking to them in a subtle manner that certain behaviours are frowned at in society and apprise them about what is expected of a child. To exemplify, my seven years old daughter hates to do her hometask home tasks and always go to school late. I used counselling method to get her to be doing her homework and going to school earlier each day. In conclusion, despite the fact that corporal punishment is useful in teaching a child good behaviour at an early age, parents and teachers should employ counselling and depriving them of social amenities can yeild a good dividen divided in educating them about good morals at a tender age.