Traffic congestion in major cities is an increasing problem, yet there is an environmental impact to be considered when building new roads. What can be done about this problem?

Delay of movement in urban areas has been on the increase. As much as the solution is to build alternative highways, this is going to have a direct impact on the environment. This essay will be looking into this problem and will also be offering an alternate explanation that suggests decongestion as a viable solution. Megacitiescities are prone to be burdened with bottlenecks in movement and this has been progressing over time. This issue can be attributed to the surge in migration into these cities. As much as creating other pathways for cars can be considered a solution, its' negative effect on the surroundings is not desired, because the impact of road construction affects vegetation that helps clear the atmosphere and this is not desirable. Therefore to effectively take care of this anomaly, there is a need to decentralise big cities. It is a well-known fact that most urban areas have good social amenities that attract people from all ranges of life, while lesser-known areas are left neglected. However, if the same kind of attention given to major localities is given to smaller towns, then the propensity for the community to move to the high-brow localities will drastically reduce. The end result of this action will be decongestion of the high-brow area and the issue of flow drag will be greatly reduced. In conclusion, this essay has looked into the problem of traffic bottlenecks in major places where people live and has also looked into the reason why the proposed result of creating alternative ways will impact the environment. However, this essay has been able to provide another way of mitigating the issue by reducing the inflow of people into the megacities cities.