Many management interviews assess not only a person's level of experience and knowledge but also their personality. Is leadership an innate skill? What other characteristics do companies look for in a manager?

A manager plays a vital role in a successful organisation. It is commonly believed that the manager should have knowledge, experience and personality to handle the responsibility. A manager should have a leadership quality that is innate but can also be acquired by years of experience and interaction and working with team members. Firstly, a manager should have multiple qualities. For instance, he should inspire, motivate and help his employees when they need him. Moreover, he should have good communication skills, so that he could clearly explain tasks to his employees. Similarly, he should be reliable and trustworthy, so that employees feel free to share their opinion and other things in which they feel difficulty. In addition to that, he should be honest and frequently give feedback to his team members about how they are doing, along with giving rewards and recognition to them. Secondly, he should have a leadership quality, which is inherited but can be acquired by further experience and interacting and working with teams. A good leader is one who takes initiative rather than waiting for somebody to ask. A leader should encourage and motivate his team to achieve goals. Similarly, a leader should guide his teams in the right direction and help them whenever they needed. In conclusion, behind the success of every institute, there is a powerful management and manager plays a key role in that, so while hiring him, people should consider things like working experience, knowledge, personality and leadership quality.