In some countries, small town-center shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may increase the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Considering the tendency of large stores based on the outskirts, tiny shops in the city center are becoming out of business. Thereupon, there is an increase in private transport usage, and access to large out-of-town stores is limited for those without cars. As it may disturb the general economy of some particular region, I lean toward the drawbacks of this practice offset the benefits. There is no denying this trend balances the city and the suburban population by encouraging citizens to move to out-of-town areas to live. Modern municipalities are faced with overpopulation and ever-going pressure on housing supply systems, and it is probable to relieve such pressure in the future. In addition, there is a chance to give occupation for residents living out of central town, which boost economic state of this region. Conversely, it causes the considerable inconvenience which the unemployment rate ascends drastically, bringing central shops to the verge of bankruptcy. Along with it, a rise in using cars contributes to traffic congestion and that process release a tremendous amount of carbon dioxide into the air. Therefore, it eventually downgrades the environment and attenuates health issues like lung cancer and asthma, which threaten human beings. To recapitulate, the trend towards shopping in large stores located away from the city produces adverse impacts on both lives of out-center and central residents. Although it can solve several population problems in modern cities, it profoundly affects on the environment and health.