some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages the disadvantages

With the advent of technology, many employers believe that they should be able to be in touch with their personnel even during vacation. While it is necessary to be able to reach out to your team during emergencies, I do not think being in contact at all times is a good idea. Even though it is vital that the employer maintains some form of contact with the employees, it is absolutely unnecessary to disturb them during holidays. It is an invasion of privacy and eats into the quality time spent by the personnel with their families. Moreover, working even during the break would technically be considered as overtime, however, the staff would not get paid more for this kind of setting. Unless an employee has agreed to work from home or any other place, they should not be bothered during their vacation. For instance, a recent study states that working during your precious family time or holidays could lead to detrimental effects on mental health as well as strain relationships with your family members. Moreover, calling staff constantly whilst they are on a break will make the staff lose respect for their employer leading to an overall feeling of disinterest in the job. For example, it has been studied and proven that companies with the administration who respect their employees' time and give them required space do much better as a whole than companies with invasive administration. Good organizational skills will deplete the necessity of contacting an employee during their vacation. To conclude, employers should definitely not constantly keep contacting their staff during their holidays, unless of,course it is absolutely an emergency as there are others in the office who can cover up for the employee. The disadvantages of this kind of setup outweigh the advantages without an ounce of doubt.