Some people think employers should not care about the way their employees dress, but the quality at work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that executives should pay attention to employees ' performance, not their choice of clothes. As far as I'm concerned, while productivity is essential, it is mandatory for staff members to wear appropriate clothes to keep good discipline and to make a good impression when serving customers. Undoubtedly, an employee's performance at work has always been the first criteria when it comes to selecting and recruiting a workforce. In other words, managers tend to prioritize choosing people having soft skills and experience needed for the position as they are more likely to provide better quality at work. However, a worker’s choice of clothes also has a significant influence on the growth of a business. First of all, Wearing appropriate clothes referring to a particular line of work creates good discipline amongst the staff. By wearing uniform or formal clothes, employees are reminded of their own position and responsibility in the company. For example, McDonalds - a fast food restaurant chain, always has their staff wearing uniforms when serving customers. So far, the restaurant chain has been one of the most popular dining establishments worldwide. McDonald's success is largely attributed to its consistency and employee discipline. Another key reason why employees should wear proper clothes while working is that customers are heavily influenced by the worker's appearance. Employees wearing inappropriate clothes could irritate customers or even intimidate them. Therefore, the way that employees dress could affect the productivity of a company,or even threaten the existence of it. For instance, many high-end boutiques in Viet Nam have really trendy streetwear clothes that have been selling like hot cakes. However, because of the staff members’ intimidating appearance, more and more stores are having less customers. In fact, several of them are about to go out of business. In summary, although the quality at work of an employee is necessary, employers should not neglect the way their staff dress as this factor also contributes to the success of a business.