mployers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these vies and give your own opinion.

When applying for a job, employers sometimes ask candidates applying for the job about their personal information, such as their marital state and their hobbies and interests. While some people claim that it is not necessary to collect this type of information, it is my opinion that this information is worthwhile and relevant. On the one hand, collecting the personal information of a new candidate might be a privacy concern. This is because there are some people who may feel uncomfortable sharing with others details about their personal life. Therefore, these people wish to keep certain information about their lives to themselves. For instance, if someone had a divorce, they are more likely to prefer not to talk about this unpleasant experience when applying for a job. On the other hand, I believe that collecting personal information is crucial to finding the best job and finding the best work environment. The reason for this is that personal information such as marital status can be an indicator of accepting working in special conditions. For example, if someone is single, he will be more likely to accept jobs that require frequent travelling. What is more, asking for personal information such as hobbies and interests can help people seeking jobs find suitable work colleagues. To illustrate this, if some people are interested in watching Hockey sport, for instance, they are more likely to welcome new members with the same interest. Moreover, this mutual interest will help new candidates build up a good rapport building with the old employees, and this indeed will lead to a friendly and productive work environment. To conclude, there is a possible privacy concern that some people may not feel comfortable sharing their personal information, however finding a job that fits a job seeker marital state and finding work colleagues with the same interests is more beneficial. Therefore, I am inclined to support the idea of interviewers asking about personal information.