Many jobs require ongoing training and research to stay competitive in a world with rapidly evolving information and technology. Some believe that it is the responsibility of businesses to pay for this training for their staff while others feel it is up to the individual. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In an era of technological disruption, it is becoming increasingly important for businesses to consistently train their employees. In my opinion, though individuals in certain professions should undertake training for their own self-respect, this requirement is generally the responsibility of businesses. There are particular sectors where the duty to continue training is a matter of self-respect. This applies to professions where employees are well-compensated and play a key role in society. For instance, doctors receive high salaries and impact public health greatly. A doctor who works with cancer patients has a responsibility to read the latest research in order to understand the best possible options for treatment. Failing to do so would amount to wasting their potential and not fulfilling their duty of care. However, these positions are the exception and, for most jobs, lack of current training will not have such dire ramifications. I believe companies should be primarily responsible for training as they possess the means and motive. An illustrative example of this would be banks. At many banks, it is essential for employees to understand regulatory changes and learn about new developments in the field. Such training benefits the individual to an extent but the bank itself gains the most from having a qualified staff that can make sound financial decisions. However, the average bank worker may not have the time or finances to afford such courses. Therefore, it is common practice at well-run banks to provide free online or university courses for committed employees. This strategy holds true not simply for banking but for any job where new training will be beneficial for the overall business. In conclusion, despite exceptions in certain professions, companies that are financially able and also stand to benefit the most should be responsible for training. This will only become more crucial in coming years as technology continues to outpace other industries.