Many jobs require ongoing training and research to stay competitive in a world with rapidly evolving information and technology. Some believe that it is the responsibility of businesses to pay for this training for their staff while others feel it is up to the individual. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Working in an era of technological disruption, employees need to be well-prepared at almost all times. Therefore, receiving continual training becomes an unavoidable trend nowadays. Some advocate that the improvement plan should be supported financially by the companies, while others think that it should be personally paid for. In this essay, I will discuss both of the views and provide some evidence on why I personally opt for the previous opinion that companies should pay for the bill. On one hand, those who believe that the improvement should be paid by the staff might hold the following reasons. First and foremost, they may think that concerning learning or improving in a particular field is a very professional issue, and can only be properly opted for the training plan by the person himself. Thus, since the plan is ordered by oneself, the bill should also be paid by him or her. Furthermore, this group of people may also think that, as long as the employees are paying their own growing scheme, they will have more initiative in their hands. In another word, they can change their job at any time if they are not happy with it, and at such a moment, they won’t feel guilty for the company’s payment on their development. With the above two reasons, people are believing that the self-improvement scheme should be charged by the individual staff themselves. On the other hand, like the other group of the crowd, I also agree with the opinion that the growth arrangement should be financially supported by the institutions. For one thing, a professionally well-prepared team will definitely benefit the enterprises in such a fierce global working environment. For instance, hospitals that provide opportunities for their staff to be trained regularly can undoubtedly ensure a much more advanced treatment for their patients, thus leading them to stand out in a competitive market-oriented environment. For another, companies, being the top professional workplace, are holding more advanced resources in terms of the training programs. In another word, institutions can select the best projects for their employees, and even can possibly enjoy a relatively flat fee for the scheme. Therefore, instead of waiting for the employees to pay for themselves on their growth, from a long term benefit, companies should cover the expanse for the sake of their own profits. In conclusion, even though some people might insist that the growing blueprint should be paid by the individual working staffs, I personally agree that institutions should do the financial support in order to earn themselves a better outcome.