Many jobs require ongoing training and research to stay competitive in a world with rapidly evolving information and technology. Some believe that it is the responsibility of businesses to pay for this training for their staff while others feel it is up to the individual. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has long been a subject of discussion whether individuals should pay for access to new learnings in order to keep up with technology related to their jobs or not. In my opinion, businesses have a responsibility to cover the cost. On the one hand, people believe that businesses should pay the cost of ongoing training and research for their employees because it will act as a long-term boon for businesses. This is because information and technology are changing rapidly every day, and it is indispensable for businesses to have skilled employees with the knowledge of new trends in order to sustain themselves in the market. Furthermore, it is the organization that gets more benefit out of it, because the well-trained staff is capable to increase profits margins. For example, "Tata Industries" send their workers to Germany once every 5 years for 2 months to familiarise themselves with new technology. This cost is covered entirely by Tata Industries. There is no doubt that it has helped the company to grow in India. On the other, some think that it depends on individuals to take the training because of their economic situations. Some professions are required intensive training which is expensive such as doctors and engineers. The staff does not have enough budget to cover the cost of training. This is because it involves the research of experts and expensive equipment. Therefore, it does not appeal to employees to go on such expensive training without any support. To illustrate, take an example of cancer operations, doctors have to go to America for this training from different countries. Some of them are not able to bear the cost of travel and accommodation. In conclusion, businesses are the beneficiary of well-trained staff; however, employees are not able to cover expenses of training and research. In my opinion, businesses are responsible as a whole to pay the cost of training.