More and more students at university today are not choosing to study science. Why is this happening? What are the effects of this?

In the past, the majority of parents always encouraged their children to study in science field. Nevertheless the number of students in higher education select for science program these day continues to reduce. This essay will first look at the reasons why this happens, and then explore the potential effects of this phenomenon. The primary reason that studying in branches of science becomes less and less common is changing attitude towards education. In the twentieth century, those who studied in related science faculties in particular medicine, science and engineering were considered to be honorable person and usually offered high salaries and high job securities, while those who graduated from other fields were left behind. Fortunately, children in this generation see things differently. They give more valves to other majors and opt those for their choices. They learn that studying other courses, apart from science, can also provide them with high income and respect too. This phenomenon cause a great shift in job industries. The researcher, scientist and other relevant careers in science field will be in high demand and eventually shortage. This would lead to fewer technological developments. On the other hand, the number of those who graduated from further faculty, such as Arts, Business Administration,and law, rises and contribute to several development in their countries. To sum up, educational perspective developing play an important role to this shift causing lowering numbers in science learners and employees shortage in specific field. However, it is a blessing in disguise because further development in different field will come up and this will lead to sustainable development.