In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as the food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Currently, plastic containers have always been a topic of interest. It is claimed that they are becoming more well-known with a wealth of businesses such as the food and beverage industry making use of them. While this thinking is valid to some extent, I would contend that it may do more harm than good. Without a shadow of a doubt, plastic containers play a paramount imperative role in the food and drink manufacturing industry. Evidently, the price of plastic is so affordable that many businesses use this material to package their product in order to make a profit. Moreover, plastic wrappers have less weight compared to other packaging materials so they can serve as a portable container for consumers to bring along, concurrently are suggested to be applied to use on a mass scale. And the customers can throw it away easily after making use of the plastic container or bottles. For example, Starbucks and McDonald can be cited as some solid examples for those who take advantage of single- use plastic for packaging. It is irrefutable to note that plastic containers act as a precursor in our daily life. While the redeeming features of plastic containers are widely acknowledged, these materials wreak havoc on our environment. Humans produce millions of tons of plastic annually, most of which are not able to decay naturally. Consequently, they have a tendency to go to landfill where it is buried or get into the water and find their way into the ocean which ruins the underground and marine life. For instance, when the plastic bags float on water, fish and turtles can mistake them for food and accidentally eat plastic. More dangerously, marine animals can get trapped in plastic. It is undeniable that the drawback of plastic containers can be neglected. In conclusion, although plastic containers bring benefits by their usage in many businesses, the drawbacks on the environment weigh more than their counterparts.