Many parts of the world are losing important natural resources, such as forests, animals, or clean water. Choose one resource that is disappearing and explain why it needs to be saved. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Clean water, one of the most valuable natural resources globally, has been rapidly depleted over the last century. Recently, the latest research by Nasa proved how limited freshwater is. Therefore, it is essential to be aware of our lifestyle behavior to stop wasting water by analyzing the impact of overpopulation and overconsumption. In the first place, our perception of living drives us to consume more daily on a big scale without asking ourselves whether or not there would be enough drinkable water for everybody. As our population keeps growing, the water demand is driven mainly by Food Production and Agriculture to feed our communities. Moreover, the wastewater produced by these giant industries is not processed after being used and deposited in rivers or seas. Therefore, it is inviable to believe that future generations will benefit from freshwater. Secondly, another significant waste is household appliances due to overconsumption. However, some developed countries have implemented a wastewater recycling system, which could be a short-term solution. An obvious example is the Los Angeles area, where the plan was a success. Water from toilets, sinks, and factories was returned to households as sterilized water, and citizens reported no taste difference. Although the mechanism requires a vast amount of energy, that leads us to the starting point. To summarise, clean water is not an unlimited resource, which can be replaced easily. Hence, it remains on our conscience to preserve it and understand how to use it consciously.