Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement??

Many people hold the view that funding on art sections is wasting budgets, while many others think it is better to invest in public services and communities. To some,extend I tend to disagree with this point of view. Due to the type of,country It can be profitable or not. Lots of developing countries first need to provide facilities than amenities. To put it simply, they have to prioritize the healthcare system and education over luxury sections such as art. For instance, the people who do not have the literacy and are not well-educated and even basic needs of normal life such as mental and physical health, enough food to eat and healthy and sufficient resource of water are too busy to comprehend and appreciate the value of an artwork. On the other hand, many developed countries have the opportunity to provide amenities in arts besides other core sections. This will encourage creativity and promotes harmony in their society. Take European countries as an example. Along being highly facilitated you can see many at-the-state-of- art museums, galleries, theatres and so on. In addition to their attraction of millions of tourist and as ar result economical benefits, they are representing their culture and history wisely. But what if historical countries cannot afford the funding as is so-called a developing one? In this case, the best way may be to persuade wealthy patrons to subsidise this section. What I mean by this is that along with the government they can help save their historical and cultural heritages. This promotes national pride and absolutely encourages other people to take part. So there will not be great pressure on the government anymore. In conclusion, although many countries cannot afford the budget to appreciate art as it deserves and many still think it is a waste of time and money; In my,idea both art and core services such as education and healthcare systems play a vital role in society. The main responsibility lies not only with the government but also with individuals.