In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Nowadays, a nursing home is becoming popular among older people as they have nurses to take care of them and friends to interact. While some people argue that the government should pay for this care, others believe this care has to be paid by the family. In my opinion, both the government and the family should make joint efforts to pay for the care. To begin with, payment for a nursing home should be paid by both the government and the family as they have played a crucial role both in society and family. For example, most senior people have been working hard to support their family and, by doing that, they also have been making contributions to societal progress. As a token of appreciation, both national authority and family members should provide support when older people need help including financial support for nursing home care. This clearly explains why both the government and the family should pay for nursing home care for seniors. On top of this, imposing a financial burden on a single source can engender a pernicious outcomes. Paying for care at a nursing home can be burdensome to both the government and the family. The cost involves accommodation, food, carers, and activities, which means that the cost can be overwhelming. If the government is the only economic source for this care, it will encounter huge financial deficits when there are too many elderly people asking for nursing home care. The same applies to the family. If they have to pay for the expensive care for long, they can get into a situation where they have to declare bankruptcy. Therefore, joint responsibility by the government and the family can relieve the financial burden by each contributing a partial amount of payment for nursing home care. To sum up, both the government and the family should pay for nursing home care for seniors. Not only because elderly people have made contributions both to the society and the family but also financial burden can be eased with joint responsibility, payment for a nursing home care for seniors has to be made by both the government and the family