Present a written argument or case to an educated non-specialist audience on the following topic: Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

It is certainly the case that some employers use the money to reward staffs who have extraordinary contributions. However, whether this practice can achieve its intended effect is up to debate. In the following essay, I will analyse the effectiveness of this strategy and provide a better way to invoke employees motivation. Extra money reward is certainly one of the most attractive incentives to encourage employees to dedicate themselves to the job. The main reason is that for people who work to make their statement balance, money is a critical factor for employees to choose the job. Although money is one the most critical factor for some workers to choose the work, providing the extra pay to dedicated workers who want to improve companies performance let them feel unrespectful and disappointed. Since giving extra paying is the easiest way for companies to reward staffs' contributions, in the employee aspect, this strategy might be a sign that the company does not concern about their real demand and want to use the simplest way to treat them. Moreover, some staffs who have the ambition to locate in higher positions feel they do not have a chance to achieve their objectives. The possible result is that the motivative employee will resign and search the other company which can give them more opportunities to express themselves and achieve their goals. According to the above reasons, I think the better way to increase employees ' motivation is that different kinds of employees should have different kinds of compensations which depends on their demands. For example, managers should reward employees who want to perform their abilities and have the ambition to locate in the higher position by promotion opportunities. For people who are under financial pressure, the extra payment is the best choice. In conclusion, paying extra money might be useful to increase some people's motivation; however, it might have opposite effects to the others. Hence, for different kinds of employees, the rewards should be adjusted.