Some people think that criminal activities can be reduced by giving prisoners a better education inside the prison and they can get a job when they leave prison. To What Extent Do You Agree Or Disagree?

Some people believe that providing criminals with access to educational courses and training programmes might improve the chance of these offenders to have a better life after prison. This essay agrees with the idea because it helps prisoners to acquire skills that can support their life financially and the process of learning and training can foster the rehabilitation of these criminals. One reason for providing education inside prisons is that it gives criminals practical skills and hands-on experiences. Thus, after serving their sentences, they can apply for jobs in the market, so it saves their time from learning and practising. Consequently, it not only provides them with financial benefits but also reduces burdens on their family members who are responsible for taking care of these offenders after jail. For example, prisoners in Vietnam are allowed to take courses in computer science, electrical engineering, and business management, so most of them after their custodial sentences are qualified to work in these domains. Another reason to facilitate educating prisoners is that it can rehabilitate them. Because learning and practising require social communication and the obligation of maintaining proper interactions among these prisoners, so it can be a positive transition for them before getting back into society. For this reason, they may learn how to care about people and take responsibility for their actions like a normal citizen. For instance, teaching a theft about business may help him to understand the value of good and how hard it is made, so he can appreciate people's working effort and decide to stop doing misdeeds. In conclusion, providing courses inside prison teaches valuable skills for offenders to be ready for jobs and it also supports the rehabilitation of these prisoners, so I, therefore, believe that better education should be given to criminals in jail.