The growth of the online shopping will one day lead to the closure of shopping stores in cities. Do you agree or disagree with this.

Shopping has become a huge aspect of our lives and the advancement in technology has provided a different way of doing it. While buying goods online is becoming popular,I believe it will be difficult for it to completely replace the conventional face to face method. This essay would shed more light on this topic and cite relevant examples. Purchasing things online has become a trend due to the convenience it provides. Nowadays people are no longer required to visit stores in order to buy items, this can be done from the comfort of their homes with just the click of a finger. This new way of buying items is particularly beneficial to people living with disabilities who can not go into the shops. Additionally, it also helps individuals to avoid the long queues at the till that can be really long especially during peak periods. While shopping online is convenient and growing, I am convinced that it can not lead to the closure of departmental stores due to the fact that it will bring about unemployment. Departmental stores provide employment for millions of individuals around the world hence, closing these stores because of the high usage of online shopping would consequently lead to so many people being jobless resulting in detrimental effects such as crime. For example, during the Covid-19 lockdown period, we were all instructed to stay at home except health care workers and bus drivers. This meant that the majority of people had to do their shopping through the internet. A lot of companies leveraged this and laid off their staff and today the world is yet to recover fully from the significant increase in unemployment. In conclusion, while shopping carried out via computers is significantly becoming popular because it's more convenient, it would be nearly impossible for stores to be shut down because that would lead to mass unemployment.