Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

With the rapid development of the food industry, many manufactured food and drink products that contain high levels of sugar have entered people ’s lives. I do not believe that increasing the price of sugary products is an appropriate way to encourage people to lower their sugar intake which some suggest may cause many health problems. Many low and middle-income people will undertake a higher living cost if sugary products are made more expensive. Low and middle-income people make up the vast majority of the society. Most of them usually rely on these manufactured foods as working meals because they do not have sufficient time to cook a meal or sit down to have delicious meals during the workday. The manufactured food supports their most fundamental energy needs even though there is too much sugar in it. Increasing the price of sugary products will stop people who really require them to buy them at an affordable price while the wealthy are not the target consumers of such products. When talking about physical health, only considering how much sugar people consume is one-sided because the reason for health problems is complex and comprehensive. Enough exercise, regular daily routine, and a good mood are all important contributors of health that cannot be ignored. As a result, only increasing the price of manufactured food is an inconsiderate and unproductive simple and rude method. In summary, it is an ineffective policy to make sugary products more expensive to urge people to consume less sugar. Simply raising prices will make life more expensive for many groups, leaving the public complaining. I believe that encouraging people to improve health awareness and make a habit of healthy life are better alternatives. Meanwhile, companies can also update food industry technology to produce more healthy food.