Government investment in the visual arts, the kind you commonly see in art galleries, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

These days, many local governments spend large portions of their budget not only on public services, but also on the visual arts. Although I agree that it is important to invest in local amenities, I do not think spending on the visual arts is a waste of money. This essay will discuss this issue using examples to support arguments and demonstrate points. On the one hand, spending a significant amount of the government budget on public services is beneficial for society. Providing for basic amenities, such as hospitals, roads, and schools, helps to determine the quality of life that most citizens will have. For example, studies consistently reveal that countries that spend more on schools have a population that is higher in literacy, compared to those that dedicate no money to education. Therefore, it is apparent that spending on public services is a worthwhile investment for the government. At the same time, visual arts are a form of public service, and hold more value to the public than people might at first assume. An investment in local visual arts can enrich the education and even the wellbeing of a community. For instance, education includes classes in culture and art, and a trip to a locally funded art museum can certainly greatly enhance that aspect of learning. Additionally, studies have shown that adding sculptures to public spaces can increase a sense of community belonging and pride. So even if visual arts are not as essential of a service as the basic amenities, there is benefit to funding them. To sum up, although there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into public services, I do not believe spending money on the arts is not a waste of money as this too provides important benefits. In the future, governments should consider budgeting for both