Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary era, governments around the world play a vital role in a development of human societies. They can choose to invest public finance in building either public infrastructure or entertainment industry. I believe that government must allocate money to construct improve public services rather than expending money to promote art and music. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the primary duty of government and the significance of investing public money to prepare public overheads. First, the primary role of authorities to improve the welfare of people. For example, a study found that the countries which allocate money to increase welfare of people can achieve the goals of access to health services, education, and security for everyone. Ensuring individuals’ reach to these basic services strengthen social, economic, and political bases of societies. Building these foundations strong will guarantee the greater and better welfare of several generations to come. Another responsibility of ruling agencies is to build overheads like roads, bridges, railways, and cities. Researchers have highlighted that expending money in such infrastructure encourages trade and development of private sectors across nation. Furthermore, the easy access to roads and railways reduces the cost of travel and transaction which provide incentive for people to expand their businesses to the places far away from their home. Furthermore, the expense on public infrastructure brings numerous benefits to both people and government. To conclude, governments that build their public infrastructure and strong public welfare system prepare the fundamental of prosperous societies. Therefore, I strongly recommend governments to allocate budget for public development rather than for the enrichment of arts and amusement.