Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Acceptance of difficult situations such as financial misfortune and emotional distresses is considered by some folk the best way of coping, whereas others claim that it is more beneficial for people to attempt to improve the issues they are facing. Personally, I agree with the latter perspective. Both sides of the argument and the reasoning for my opinion will be discussed in the essay. Accepting that individuals cannot impact their surroundings in problematic situations is believed to be a realistic approach to life. As a community is complex as a machine, with millions of gears turning coherently, any individuals who face difficulties are said to disrupt the whole process; therefore, they should try to improve. However, it should not be forgotten that within millions of small gears, losing a few would not affect the overall efficiency of a machine. For illustration, an individual facing poverty in exchange for more wealth for other citizens is beneficial to the mass. In America, the majority of wealth is in the hand of only the top 5% of the population. This has rendered any attempts to improve personal circumstances obsolete and meaningless. Moreover, when facing challenges and hardships, people can only rely on a slim chance in their careers or personal matters. An example would be selling items online. This is one of the most effective ways to eradicate the monetary problems, but it is also the most volatile business that commonly leads to more losses than gains. Even though the population, on the whole, do not care about a small number of people with issues. They themselves can do various things to improve their circumstances. I believe that every person is capable and possesses the ability to tackle unwanted issues. Firstly, necessity is the mother of growth. Any challenges can be seen as an opportunity for personal development, and any problems can be a way to measure a person's worth in society. A small budget for groceries and daily items can aid in creating a reasonable spending habit. Moreover, becoming better at a hobby or a profession can lead to a tremendous boost in self-confidence and living standards. Knowing that one possesses an achievement can create a sense of self-confidence and self-esteem. Such an attitude will benefit one's life as his perspectives and actions will change accordingly. In conclusion, while it is true that society will not change itself to improve the hardships of a person, he himself owns the strength to make changes and to improve himself for the purpose of changing his conditions. I strongly believe that regardless of difficulties or challenges, there are always opportunities for self-improvement.