The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The industrial era has improved human's life on a new level, but at the same time, damaged the Earth at an alarming rate. The more resources are exploited, the more vulnerable the ecosphere is. This essay seeks to analyze the roots of the matter and give out a solution. To begin with, every activity of the world industrial system functions solely based on natural resources. From the small food packaging to the gigantic plane, it was these production enterprises that utilize the majority of the raw supplies. For this reason, when the market needs are on the rise, more materials will be used and thereby, leading to resources exhaustion. Moreover, the production procedures discharge emissions and waste into the environment, resulting in air, water and soil pollution. Therefore, the increase in the demand for goods leads to incessant exploitation and exposure, which subsequently debilitate the ecosystem. Under the circumstances that the world industry relies heavily on the environment and is constantly exploiting the resources, it is unfeasible to thoroughly resolve the problem within a near-sighted future. However, applying some methods can help improve the situation. For example, many businesses are encouraged to substitute renewable energy, such as electricity, hydro, or wind, for limited fuels. Many world-leading corporations like Tesla has been pioneering in producing electric cars instead of conventional gasoline-based vehicles, which has helped to reduce harmful emission. Besides using engine transportation, people are also incited to travel on foot or by bicycles as it also contributes to improving the situation. In conclusion, by taking advantage of natural resources and releasing pollutants to serve for producing goods, humans are imposing burdens on the Earth. Cutting down the polluted discharges is a temporary solution, and to absolutely solve the problem requires more time and effort.