As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time? To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Since computers are efficient means of translating various languages they can substitute the time spent in learning languages. I strongly disagree with this statement as knowing a language makes travelling more interesting and enjoyable. Moreover, when learning a language the intricate neurological network in the brain develops which is an advantage when learning other skills. When travelling to other countries, speaking the language of the inhabitants is important to get to know the people and their culture. This makes the visit much more rewarding. Tourists not being able to communicate with the natives will miss the opportunity to truly learn about the place they visit. For example, Scandinavian people are taught English from early preschool and are confident in speaking English when reaching adulthood. These have fewer problems when travelling abroad compared to French people that are not taught English from early on and experience difficulties when visiting other countries. Another example of how important language is is that learning linguistics impacts the brain and the network of neurons which is useful for knowing other areas for example mathematics. To simplify, when learning a language, one will actually get smarter. It is found that children with parents speaking different languages, thus learn two languages from early on, easier learn other subjects when starting school. This association is because of the complex neurological network built from an early stage. To conclude, language is important to learn because it is fundamental when visiting other countries. Moreover, when knowing another language the brain develops which is useful as it helps in learning other subjects.