Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is said that some companies ask for personal details of candidates when they apply for a position. Some people believe that this information is private and not relevant to job while others and I agree with this view. The question is whether personal information is necessary for recruitment or not. This essay will discuss some arguments around this matter and present my stand. On one hand, some people who do not support this view claim that recruiters should not ask personal questions because it is unnecessary. In fact, most people often want to secure their personal information such as gender, marital status or may be health. Maybe they think their personal details will become disadvantageous. For example, a woman who has a young baby may be unsuitable for full-time job. On the other hand, many people and I are of the opinion that personal information is may be more beneficial for both recruiters and candidates. The first reason for this is that employers will assign suitable positions for workers based on their hobbies. For instance, if a person is interested in traveling or outdoor activities, he or she will be suitable for the sales or marketing department instead of the finance department. In addition, the permanent jobs usually require applicants commit to long-term work and may be able to work over-time on a regular basis. Most single people tend to be willing to do overtime rather than a married ones. That is a reason why some employers are concerned about the marital status of applicants. In conclusion, different individuals see this issue from contrasting perspectives. However, I am inclined to agree with the view that the employers can ask for personal information of the candidates because this will bring more benefits for both parties.