The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

The local shops and centres might wind up due to the technological advancements and surge in demand for online shopping in the coming future. I strongly disagree with the statement, regional stores have their own importance since people still prefer purchasing goods which they can feel and prefer human interaction. This essay will further elaborate on the coexistence of both virtual and physical establishments. To begin with, there has been an undeniable growth in the digital purchase of necessary goods such as clothes, books, electronic gadgets and groceries yet there are things that cannot be purchased online such as prescribed drugs, fuel, testing and check-ups. For instance, in a study conducted by Economic,Times it was established that 68% of the Indian population trust their neighbour stores and setup as compared to online shopping. Hence, resulting in the need for physical shops. Moreover, People who are residing in the same residential location for years rely on their local vendors since they have known them for ages and consider them trustworthy. For example, these small owners provide their customers additional credit facilities, customize their product as per customer’s requirement and most importantly their services involves human interaction and assistance. Thus, helps in building their own customer base. Furthermore, these stores are trying to improve themselves with the inclusion of various modes of payment, delivery services and the addition of a variety of products as per the trend and requirements they notice around them. Online shopping provides various benefits which are helping them grow their customer base but the human interaction is still missing which is provided by the local shop owners. To conclude, the introduction of digital shopping has resulted in the closure of numerous outlets but with the help of innovation and understanding the needs of their client and by maintaining a relation them these retail shops and vendors will learn to co-exist with these e-commerce giants.