Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get the job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals reckon that it is vitally important for mankind to hold a university degree for securing a well-paid job, while others opine that the focus should be on acquiring work experience and advancing soft skills. In my view, improvement in personal skills and having good professional background may assist candidates to apply for different occupations, however, being a university graduate can give them priority over other applicants. On the one hand, the advocates of work experience and soft skills believe that such qualities may throw the balance in favour of the applicant if they are willing to work in different positions. Many international companies are looking for good team players who will be able to raise the company’s profile by working in several departments. According to proponents of this view, having relevant experience in that line of work and gaining useful soft skills would make these candidates become the main target group of workers for reputable organizations. On the other hand, I support the idea of having tertiary education which is a deciding factor in getting a well-paid job. In comparison with professional background (work experience and soft skills), graduates are livelier to be promoted to higher positions and work in high powered jobs. To give a prime example, British Petroleum, after hiring qualified candidates with deep knowledge of the oil industry, managed to survive in stiff competition without laying someone off, according to research conducted by Guardian. As a result, high-level education guarantees an applicant’s position, regardless of an overwhelming number of candidates for a particular vacancy. In conclusion, although there are several reasons why individuals think work experience and indispensable soft skills might play an important role in finding a good job, I support that a relevant background in education comes in the first place in human resource managers’ priority list.