Sending criminals to prison is considered the most common method of dealing with them. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Humans are compassionate by nature, and hence our way of punishing crime mostly avoids capital punishment. Since time immemorial, for most crimes, the punishment has been imprisonment. This has been a tried and tested procedure, and with specific adaptations, a very successful one. Although there are obvious disadvantages, I think that the advantages offered by prisons far outweigh the disadvantages. Imprisonment snatches away the freedoms of a person, which in itself disciplines the culprit. Also, it gives the culprit enough time to atone for his sins, and to get back to society as a reformed individual. Hardened criminals are kept in isolation at high-security prisons, where they are made to work hard and are provided with bare minimum necessities, while petty criminals are kept in 'open prisons ', where they can work in workshops to gain skills and attend schools to get educated so that they can integrate well with the society. Statistical research has also shown that in the long run, humane treatment of a criminal, improves both the individual and the community. Does it mean that we should send all the thugs only to the prison? What about serious crimes like rape or premeditated murders or genocide? Surely, such heinous crimes deserve a death penalty. Also, sending someone to prison for exceeding the speed limit seems frivolous. In such cases, a simple fine should suffice. Maintaining a prison and all the attendant staff and facilities is a very expensive proposition, for the government, and the tax-paying citizen, and punishing all miscreants by throwing them behind bars is unwarranted. To summarize, sending criminals to prison has been practised since the ages and has been a largely successful method. In the United States, prisons are called correctional facilities, to emphasize the improvement aspect. Thus, in my opinion, we should continue with the practice, but focus on reforming the felon.