Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

In this cut-throat competitive business world, air travel plays a significant role in public transportation and goods import and export. Owing to the decrease in air tickets, the number of flights is increasing rapidly which leads to enormous noise pollution. Some segments of society reckon that government should control air traffic by rising air taxes. Although there are arguments on both sides, due to my personal beliefs I disagree with that. These beliefs will be discussed in support of my personal stance in the following paragraphs. To embark on, there is no doubt for some people who prefer to reduce air transportation by increasing air tolls, because they believe that a higher tax would make the cost of travelling more expensive, which will lead to a decrease in demand, and, as a result, we can ameliorate the environmental effluences. For instance, one recent study conducted by the health sector in 2020 revealed that 50% of people suffered from bronchitis disease due to air pollution, as it was rare a decade ago. The more the air tickets, the better the health is. Why this is not the right course of action? The underlying reason behind this is that a tax would have to be a fixed amount for all the persons which means who are poor would find it more difficult to travel, but it would be little effect on those who have well-paid income. Thus, such taxes would not only pave the way but also it causing an adverse effect on society. To further corroborate the above view, many countries have implemented higher taxes on cars then also car users are growing continually. Hence, such a basic strategy would not work properly. To conclude, while the problem is increasing due to air traffic, people should be focused on alternative ways rather than heavy taxes. I opine that we can continue to enjoy the benefits that air travel offers.