Some people think that only managers should make decisions in the company while others think that employees should also be involved in the process of decision-making . Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that a corporation's management system contributes a lot to its success. Therefore, an argument has arisen circling the matter of a corporation's management framework. While some people are proponents for a centralized system where only the top executives and managers will have a say in which direction their company is going, others oppose such a view and promote a more democratic structure where every employee in a company can voice their opinions and be listened to. Personally, I am not against any of the aforementioned views as both of them have their own sets of pros and cons. This essay aims to discuss both sides of the argument and to voice my perspective regarding the matter. On one hand, a power structure where only the top individuals can affect decisions can provide timely responses to the volatile market. To further elaborate, as the process of making a choice does not involve thousands of lower-level employees, the process itself will not be time-consuming and multi-faceted, which in turn creates an environment in which every choice and decision is made fast and easy to make. For example, every international business possesses a board of executives and major investors, who hold all the authority. In the cases of these corporations, they can make fast decisions based on the opinions of professionals in the field. However, these decisions can cause opposition and resistance in the workforce as not all of them will benefit the majority. On another hand, a democratic power structure where any employees can state their views without fear is aimed toward stability and long-term businesses. To illustrate, as everyone has a say in the decision their company is going to make, these people will not harbour any feelings of resentment toward the higherups as their choices are aligned with the group's choices, which will allow for better cooperation and more drastic changes to be made. For example, family-sized businesses must discuss the issues they are facing to each and every employee they are hiring, which will create understanding and commitment to the workplace. Nevertheless, with stability comes difficulty in changes. While the process of asking every employee can take months to be completed, the market does not wait but develop into another form, which renders any attempts of collecting every personnel' assessment inefficient and unprofitable. In conclusion, because both structures have their own merits and demerits, I am not for or against any particular type of management system. My opinion is that a combination of the two is needed for any business to gain success. On a small scale should every staff' thoughts be collected, but internationally should the owners, major investors and managers make the final choice.