In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably, or is it something which we should try to prevent?

The usage of old language is declining over time, especially in youngsters, and it has been suggested for some time. For numerous reasons, this is probably unavoidable; however, the situation can be improved. Firstly, in an era of globalization, having multiple languages is a common phenomenon. Most people use a dominant language to communicate or to learn, which leads native language less practical. In some African countries such as Uganda, where each tribe has its own tongue, speaks English in their everyday life, school, and communal activities. Furthermore, loanword, which a word from other languages for new technologies and concepts that don't have traditional names, is one of the major reasons to tail-off the utilization of the mother tongue. In addition, some youths feel that the customary language is complicated. For example, in China, they have both traditional and simplified characters; however, the old one is elaborate to write, so the mass prefer simplified instead. Nevertheless, there are steps to prevent this problem. Perhaps the leading action would be schools teach traditional languages ​​from primary school, and broaden child’s horizon by promote cultural awareness. Take Mongolia as an example, students are required to take a Mongolian writing test in order to enter the university. Another practical solution is the government ought to legalize the usage of old language in public activities. This case also seen in Mongolia, from 2023, state-owned organizations will be allowed to work in the old script. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the mother tongue is being danger of extinction, due to evolution of world, yet the issue can be solved by schools and the state.