Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

History has passed for a long time ago but numerous old buildings after the war still are protected and conserved carefully by the government. However, some people think that we should not keep the buildings because they take up too much places for houses and offices. This essay will list all the importances of maintaining old buildings and history does not bother to the progress. Firstly, historic buildings play a significant role in our lives. They represents our cultures, traditions, races and are evidences for the heroic pasts. Secondly, old buildings attract tons of tourists per year for the nations. This increases the popularity of the country and also contributes a large sum of the nation’s economy. For example, France's tourism donates more than 90 billion euro to the economy of the country, makes France become the 7th developed nation of the world. Moreover, keeping old buildings help young generations improve their knowledges about the history. Every generations have to knows few informations of the country like how did we got through wars? Why are the buildings here? The origin of the buildings? On the other hand, history should not be a barrier of the nation’s progress. The first reason is the government are trying to preserve and protect historical sites as much as they can. They even show it as a proof of their proudful past. Futhermore, history also has been brought in education, which means it helps imparting informations about the war periods of last generations for young people. In conclusion, historic buldings have a crucial role in both past and present. The government should never let history stand in the way of progress.